top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Layering Image Edits

The next stage was to practise experimenting with layers, blending modes and opacity. Here are some edits from my experiments.

Image © Sophie Whale

This edit took place before my recent shoots. I used a self-portrait and an image of a tree. I increased the contrast and clarity of the background image to give it more texture. I then placed my self portrait over the top and changed the blending mode to "Lighten". This lightens the top layer and allows the background to show through. To accentuate this I changed the opacity to 90%. I really like this image as I think the tones in my hair and skin contrast well with the background.

Image © Sophie Whale

I used the same technique in this image however I didn't change the opacity. I like this image because there is lots of movement in the top half from my hair but the facial expression of the scream gives the look that time has stopped while my head is still spinning.

Image © Sophie Whale

To create this image I layered two images together but ordered the scream picture underneath the picture of my head wrapped in hair. I did this to give the effect that the hair was covering my mouth and stopping my scream from being heard. I think this is powerful as it shows how sometimes it doesn't matter how hard you try you just can't be heard.

Image © Sophie Whale

This piece is different because it consists of three separate images layered together. The background layer is normal, then the top two have been blended using the Hard Light blending mode. I then adjusted the opacity of the top layer to 90%. This is one of my favourite images so far. I love the mix of stationary and movement images. By using those specific blending modes I found it added the right amount of contrast and definition between the layers. I want to work on this image more as I think the tones in the skin need altering to reduce some of the redness.

Anchor 1

Your details were sent successfully!

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page