top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Layering Text 1

Following my most recent photoshoot I wanted to experiment more with combining text and image. Below are the results of the experimental work.

Image © Sophie Whale

I started by layering two images on top of each other, I then changed the blending mode and opacity to allow different parts of the image to show through. I then added words like anxiety, panic and confusion individually over the photograph. I chose to keep the font size small as I did not want them to appear harsh. I used a colour similar to the background to ensure the words blended into the image, this ensures the viewer has to look closely at the piece to get the whole picture.

Image © Sophie Whale

This is a simplified version of the previous image. Instead of repeating the words over and over I only used one of each word. I also used a different combination of portraits, I think this works better as you can see more of the models features and the screaming pose helps show more emotion. I also experimented with different sized text, this was to help add variety to the image.

I don't think this works with my images as it is very uniformed and does not have much movement. This contradicts the photos as they are much more free flowing. I am going to try the same technique with different fonts to see if that works better.

Anchor 1

Your details were sent successfully!

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page